Posted by: jacquelinedennis | October 25, 2011

Data Driven?

This year, I serve as an EIP (Early Intervention Program) teacher for half the day and Academic Coach for the other half of the day.  This is the first year that I am serving the whole school as Academic Coach.  I was already having doubts that my tenure as Academic Coach was still effective and each week something happens that confirms that notion.  One of the things that is expected is taking data and using that data to drive instruction.  So, we collect data on reading, writing and math.  Our state mandated Spring testing says that our school is not performing as it should in English Language Arts.  So, we are all trying to find a way to raise the bar in our performance.  One of the things suggested is to have a skill to maintain in English Language Arts. Each grade level would choose a skill or two to work on and track data to see if the instruction is working.  But as with everything, when shared decision-making is involved, there is never total agreement.  I wish I didn’t have to work with the whole school.  I wish I could just work with the teachers who want my help!  I do not want to spend my time having conversations with teachers that administration should be having.  It is not my job to try to convince teachers to get on board with what administration is asking.  So, I tell the team that they should meet with administration to discuss the issue.  I wonder, if they are teaching the standards expected, how do you know whether the students have learned the information if they don’t give some kind of assessment? Oh well, it is my  birthday! So, I’m taking the night off!


Leave a comment

Categories